Otokwu Lagos Branch Honours 4 Illustrious Mmaku Sons With Chieftaincy  Titles

By Sylvanus OBASI, Lagos.

Otokwu Mmaku Progressive Union, Lagos Branch has honoured four Illustrious sons of Mmaku with the conferement of Chieftaincy Titles and Awards.

The Award honours were conferred on the recipients during the 2023 Otokwu Day/End of the Year Ceremony held recently by the Lagos Branch of Otokwu-Mmaku community.  

Amongst those conferred with the Chieftaincy Title Awards were Chief Bede Nevobasi from Agunese Mmaku who was conferred with the title of EGBE EJI EJE OGU 1; and Chief O.J Chukwuike, from Ifite Mmaku who was honoured as IKUKUOMA 1.

Others included Chief Jonathan Akachukwu from Enugu-Mmaku who was conferred with the title of NKUDINAMBA 1; as well as Chief Johnvita Okonkwo from Agunese Mmaku who was honoured with the title of ONYE AGHANA NWANNEYA 1. 

Speaking while giving his welcome speech at the occasion, Chairman of Otokwu Mmaku Progressive Union Lagos Branch, Mr Magnus Chukwu thanked the Almighty God for His blessings, provisions and protection upon the good people of Otokwu Mmaku from January to December 2023. 

Pictures of some dignitaries during the occasion of 2023 Otokwu-Mmaku Day held recently in Lagos

He also commended the awardees for honouring the invitation and accepting the Chieftaincy titles which he said was conferred on them in recognition of their benevolence and philanthropic gestures to Mmaku people and to humanity in general. 

Chief Johnvita Okonkwo (ONYE AGHANA NWANNEYA 1) of Agunese Afam Mmaku

After the award presentations, the awardees took turns to express their deepest appreciation to Otokwu-Mmaku Lagos branch for finding them worthy of the honours. They also made financial donations in support of various developmental projects and activities of Otokwu Mmaku, Lagos branch. 

Chief Jonathan Akachukwu (NKUDINAMBA 1) of Enugu Mmaku 

Recall that the initiative to use the end of the year ceremony of Otokwu-Mmaku Lagos branch to honour outstanding individuals in Mmaku started three years ago under the visionary leadership of Mr Magnus Chukwu.

Some of the personalities already honoured with the conferrement of Chieftaincy titles previously included: 

Chief Bede Nevobasi (EGBE EJI EJE OGU 1) of Agunese Mmaku 

1. High Chief Denis Okoli (ONWA 1)

2. Chief Romanus Ezeani (EZE UDO 1)

3, High Chief Nnanyelugo Bob Andeh (OHAMADIKE 1)

3. High Chief Anthony Nnaemeka Uhalla (OME UDO 1)

4. High Chief Engr Emeka FOC Anikpo jnr (EKWUEME 1) all these are from Otokwu Mmaku.

Chief O J Chukwuike (IKUKUOMA 1) of Ifite Mmaku 

This is even as about 8 members have received LIFE MEMBERSHIP AWARD from the organisation so far. 

Otokwu-Mmaku Lagos branch is an association of men, women and youths of Otokwu people who are residents of Lagos state. The organisation meets every first Sunday bi-monthly to discuss the welfare and progress of its members and that of Otokwu Mmaku in general.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *